Are you properly using your now?

Oh boy! The grass needs cut, I need clean the pool, laundry is piling up, my son needs breakfast, and don’t even get me started on all that I need to get done at work! Dang it! I forgot to get that essay sent in for school! Do I still have time?!

Sound familiar?! It should, it’s what goes through I would assume everyone’s mind regularly. Just a laundry list of things to stress about.

Skip ahead to breakfast being out of the way and the pool being cleaned. Now it’s just me and the lawnmower. I actually enjoy this time despite the heat. I can put on my music or a podcast to just get lost in while I do the menial work of walking back and forth. Today I chose a podcast; Marcus Latrell and team never quit. If you haven’t checked it out I highly recommend it!

As I was stressing about all that needed to get done after I finished mowing I heard this (paraphrased):

You cannot take a breath for the future or the past! He went on to further explain that living in the past or for the future is pointless.

What I got from this is thst Everything you do is for the moment, in the moment, or for the very next step. Worrying about the past takes away from dealing with now. Anxiety about the future doesn’t help either. After all, when things go wrong, they happen in the here and now, not the future!

Please don’t misunderstand me, it’s not a bad thing to prepare for the future. But do it in the hear and now. Prepare for it by making your present the best it can be. Don’t forget the past either! But look upon it for what it is: a memory. We can’t change it, but we can control how we use it.

Use your now, use it for what it’s meant for! Use it to live the best way you can! The past is a training tool and the future will come whether you stress about it or not.

When you feel overwhelmed take a deep breath, but take it for now. Be mindful of where you are and what you are trying to do, and as always, if you need me. I’ll always walk with you!

Brian

Published by Brian

I am a Fireman, Paramedic, Bagpiper, Husband, and Father. I made this site in order to bring awareness to mental health disorders and addiction issues with first responders.

Leave a comment